News und Studien cometis AG, Frankfurt am Main

What companies should do now to successfully prepare for ESEF

Last updated Jun 17, 2020 at 10:49AM | Published on Apr 8, 2020 | Pressemitteilung, Uncategorized

Even if the business figures for the past year have only just been published or will be on the tickers in the coming days, listed companies should already take a look at the next reporting season. With the Directive 2013/50/EU, a new EU-wide electronic reporting format has been launched. In introducing this initiative, the supervisory authority wants to ensure better international comparability in reporting. For issuers on the Regulated Market, this means in concrete terms that annual financial reports for financial years starting on or after 1 January 2020 must be prepared in the new European Single Electronic Format (ESEF).

Financial reports will be more easily machine-readable in the future, so that one software could easily analyze and evaluate a large number of annual reports. Up to now, annual financial reports have to be submitted to the Bundesanzeiger Verlag (or the national equivalent in other European countries) in XML format. Instead of XML, ESEF now relies on XHTML code with embedded XBRL tags. The XBRL taxonomy, which is based on the IFRS specifications, will lead to a convergence in the structure and terminology used in financial reports. Initially, this will particularly affect central company information and the annual financial statements (balance sheet, profit and loss statement). In a next step, 240 additional tags in the notes to the consolidated financial statements will be mandatory from 2022.

Finally, the ESEF-compliant report is also uploaded to the Federal Gazette for publication. According to current information, the German Stock Exchange still requires a PDF document. Good for issuers: Those who integrate a comprehensive image section into their annual report do not have to consider the future XHTML code in this section of the report. Voluntary information outside of the mandatory components is not affected by the new rules, as is the case with the previous XML format.

For issuers, the new electronic reporting standard means a necessary change in the report preparation process and certainly poses an additional challenge, especially in the final phase of report preparation. Issuers now have to:

  1. Check and decide at an early stage for your company whether you want to purchase suitable software for the ESEF and handle the electronic formatting in-house parallel to report generation or whether you want to outsource this to an external service provider, as is common practice with the previous XML formatting. If you choose to outsource, allow for more time for XBRL tagging.
  2. Allow sufficient time for the annual financial report to implement the ESEF and raise awareness of the new electronic reporting format among all project participants in the company. With the new electronic reporting format, the financial report must now be ready with sufficient lead time before the publication date so that the mandatory passages can be tagged in accordance with IFRS.
  3. Maintain a close dialogue with the responsible auditor. As things stand at present, the auditors are not involved in the direct implementation of the ESEF, but only check the technical format at the end. Make sure that the audit phases take place well ahead of the publication date so that final changes to content and format are still possible.

cometis AG supports listed companies in the preparation of financial reports during the year and advises issuers on ESEF issues.

Michael Diegelmann

Newsletter subscription

Contact

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mon. - Fri. 09.00 - 18.00)

Answer Mon. - Fri.

within 24 hours

Newsletter subscription

Including a free extract of our bestseller book

Michael Diegelmann
Henryk_Deter

Newsletter subscription

Contact

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mon. – Fri. 09.00 – 18.00)

Answer Mon. – Fri.

within 24 hours

Newsletter subscription

Including a free extract of our bestseller book

What companies should do now to successfully prepare for ESEF

Last updated Jun 17, 2020 at 2:21PM | Published on Apr 8, 2020 | Pressemitteilung

Auch wenn die Geschäftszahlen für das vergangene Jahr gerade erst veröffentlicht wurden oder in den kommenden Tagen über die Ticker laufen, sollten börsennotierte Unternehmen bereits einen Blick auf die kommende Berichtssaison werfen. Mit der sogenannten Richtlinie 2013/50/EU, ist ein neues EU-weites elektronisches Berichtsformat auf den Weg gebracht worden. Mit dieser Initiative will die Aufsichtsbehörde für eine bessere internationale Vergleichbarkeit im Reporting sorgen. Für Emittenten im Regulierten Markt heißt das konkret: Jahresfinanzberichte für Geschäftsjahre ab dem 1. Januar 2020 sind in dem neuen sogenannten European Single Electronic Format (ESEF) zu erstellen.

Finanzberichte werden dadurch in Zukunft noch besser maschinell lesbar sein, so dass eine Software ohne große Mühe eine Vielzahl von Geschäftsberichten analysieren und auswerten könnte. Bisher sind Jahresfinanzberichte im XML-Format beim Bundesanzeiger Verlag einzureichen. Anstelle von XML tritt nun der XHTML-Code mit eingebetteten XBRL-Tags. Die auf den IFRS-Vorgaben basierende XBRL-Taxonomie wird dazu führen, dass sich die Finanzberichte im Aufbau und hinsichtlich der verwendeten Bezeichnungen angleichen werden. Dies betrifft zunächst insbesondere zentrale Unternehmensinformationen und den Jahresabschluss (Bilanz, GuV). Ab 2022 sollen in einem nächsten Schritt 240 zusätzliche Tags im Konzernanhang verpflichtend sein.

Auch der ESEF-konforme Bericht wird schließlich beim Bundesanzeiger zur Veröffentlichung hochgeladen. Nach aktuellem Stand verlangt die Deutsche Wertpapierbörse weiterhin ein PDF-Dokument. Gut für Emittenten: Wer einen umfangreichen Imageteil in seinen Geschäftsbericht integriert, muss in diesem Berichtsteil den künftigen XHTML-Code nicht beachten. Freiwillige Informationen außerhalb der Pflichtbestandteile sind analog zum bisherigen XML-Format davon unberührt.

Für Emittenten bedeutet der neue elektronische Berichtsstandard eine notwendige Umstellung des Berichtserstellungsprozesses und sicherlich gerade in der Endphase der Berichtserstellung eine zusätzliche Herausforderung. Folgende Punkte sind nun für Emittenten zu tun:

  1. Prüfen und entscheiden Sie frühzeitig für Ihr Unternehmen, ob Sie sich für das ESEF eine geeignete Software anschaffen wollen und die elektronische Formatierung parallel zur Berichtserstellung inhouse erledigen oder ob Sie dies, wie auch bei der bisherigen XML-Formatierung gängige Praxis, an einen externen Dienstleister auslagern. Im Falle des Outsourcings ist entsprechend mehr Zeit für das XBRL-Tagging einzuplanen.
  2. Planen Sie für den Jahresfinanzbericht ausreichend Zeit zur Umsetzung des ESEF ein und sensibilisieren Sie alle Projektbeteiligten im Unternehmen für das neue elektronische Berichtsformat. Durch das neue elektronische Berichtsformat muss der Finanzbericht nun mit ausreichend Vorlaufzeit vor dem Veröffentlichungstermin fertig werden, damit die Pflichtpassagen IFRS-konform getaggt werden können.
  3. Pflegen Sie einen engen Dialog mit dem zuständigen Wirtschaftsprüfer. Nach aktuellem Stand sind die Wirtschaftsprüfer nicht in die direkte Umsetzung des ESEF eingebunden, sondern nehmen lediglich am Ende das technische Format ab. Wirken Sie daraufhin, dass die Prüfungsphasen rechtzeitig vor dem Veröffentlichungstermin stattfinden, so dass auch finale inhaltliche und Formatierungsänderungen noch möglich sind.

Die cometis AG unterstützt börsennotierte Unternehmen bei der unterjährigen Erstellung der Finanzberichte und berät Emittenten zur ESEF-Thematik.

Michael Diegelmann
Henryk Deter

Newsletter Anmeldung

Kontakt

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mo. - Fr. 09:00 - 18:00 Uhr)

Antwort Mo. -Fr.

innerhalb von 24 Stunden

Newsletter Anmeldung

Inklusive Best-of unseres Besteller Buches.

Michael Diegelmann
Henryk_Deter

Newsletter Anmeldung

Kontakt

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mo. - Fr. 09:00 - 18:00 Uhr)

Antwort Mo. -Fr.

innerhalb von 24 Stunden

Newsletter Anmeldung

Inklusive Best-of unseres Besteller Buches.