5 Tipps for organising your next roadshow

Last updated Jun 17, 2020 at 2:21PM | Published on Feb 25, 2020 | Pressemitteilung

Observe these five tipps to make your next Roadshow a success

1. Failing to plan…

A road show needs to be planned. Planning should start about 6 weeks before. A checklist helps to keep the overview. First, you should determine who will go on the roadshow. Then you have to identify the right contact persons.

Always expect the unexpected. Sometimes the right location is not available. Or cancellations hail in turbulent markets. Then appointments have to be postponed or arranged as conference calls.

Therefore, the schedule has to be designed with foresight. You need sufficient time buffers between meetings. For roadshows lasting several days, a “buffer day” in the middle of the tour has proven to be a good idea. And don’t panic: Experience shows that the schedule fills up only a week before. Investors receive many requests for meetings and do not want to commit themselves too early.

2. You need a story to tell

Tell a convincing “story”. Tell who you are, why you do what you do and what drives you. “Be passionate”. Investors want to see a management team that “burns” for its company, believes in its business model and can communicate this convincingly.

So, you should be able to answer the W questions. And be authentic. Why do you run the company? For example because YOU have solutions for customers that they would not get without you.

One example: Why did you start a car sharing company? Because you learned something about hotel occupancy rates in your studies. If you manage a hotel with an occupancy rate of only 5 percent, you have failed. But cars are only used 5% of the time. The rest of the time they stand around uselessly. That’s where you saw the potential in car sharing.

3. Polish your slides

Develop a clean, concise presentation of maximum 15 minutes — in simple, easy to understand English. Test it on people who are NOT from the field: If they understand it, analysts, investors and reporters will understand it. Three keywords are clarity, consistency and focus.

Internalize this presentation and tell it in different ways with twists and examples. Keep it simple when dealing with complex topics and pick up your meeting partners’ thoughts where they stand. Use metaphors.

4. Actively join the conversation

Be prepared for questions, but also ask your questions. Listen carefully. Try to understand the different investors. Find out which factors influence the valuation of your company.

Take the lead in the discussion and get the investors on board. You want the shareholders to come to you and stay on board for a long time. Therefore, you need to talk about strategy. What are the three- and five-year plans? A conversation is not a one-way street. Use the investor’s know-how and get concrete feedback on your vision. Later, when you meet the investors again, you can build on their ideas.

5. Build trust

Establish a durable relationship. If you want to realize your plans, you need investors as long-term partners. No matter if it is about capital measures or trust in good corporate management.

The decisive selection criterion, apart from the pure figures, is always management quality. Investors trust you with your money, so convince them with confidence. Don’t be frustrated if you have met an investor many times before, and he still hasn’t invested. As long as he meets you, your company is important to him. Maybe he is just waiting for the right moment to join in. And when the time comes, all the road shows will have been worthwhile and the probability is high that this relationship will last for a long time.

Bonus-Tipp: Rely on a strong partner

A strong partner like cometis can help you with every step of your road show organization: from identifying the right investors and organizing meetings, preparing your story and presentation training to obtaining feedback. Click here for more info

Michael Diegelmann

Newsletter subscription

Contact

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mon. - Fri. 09.00 - 18.00)

Answer Mon. - Fri.

within 24 hours

Newsletter subscription

Including a free extract of our bestseller book

Michael Diegelmann
Henryk_Deter

Newsletter subscription

Contact

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mon. – Fri. 09.00 – 18.00)

Answer Mon. – Fri.

within 24 hours

Newsletter subscription

Including a free extract of our bestseller book

5 Tipps für die Organisation Ihrer nächsten Roadshow

Beachten Sie diese fünf Tipps, bevor Sie auf Roadshow gehen

1. Planung muss sein

Auch eine Roadshow will geplant sein. Rund 6 Wochen vorher sollte die Planung beginnen. Eine Checkliste hilft dabei, den Überblick zu behalten. Zunächst sollten Sie bestimmen, wer auf Roadshow geht. Dann gilt es die richtigen Ansprechpartner zu identifizieren.

Man sollte mit Überraschungen rechnen. Denn „unverhofft kommt oft.“ Mal ist die passende Location nicht verfügbar. Oder es hagelt Absagen bei turbulenten Märkten. Dann müssen Termine verschoben oder Telefonkonferenzen vereinbart werden.

Also muss der Zeitplan vorausschauend gestaltet werden. Man braucht ausreichende Zeitpuffer zwischen den Meetings. Bei mehrtägigen Roadshows hat sich ein „Puffertag“ in der Mitte der Tour bewährt. Und nicht in Panik verfallen: Erfahrungsgemäß füllt sich der Zeitplan erst eine Woche vorher. Investoren erhalten viele Anfragen für Meetings und wollen sich nicht zu früh festlegen.

2. Sie brauchen eine Botschaft

Erzählen Sie eine überzeugende „Story“. Sagen Sie wer Sie sind, warum Sie tun was Sie tun und was Ihr Antrieb ist. „Be passionate“. Investoren wollen ein Management sehen, das für das eigene Unternehmen „brennt“, an sein Geschäftsmodell glaubt und dies auch überzeugend rüberbringt.

Sie sollten also die W-Fragen beantworten können. Und dabei authentisch sein. Warum leiten Sie das Unternehmen? Beispielsweise weil Sie den Zugang zu Kunden haben, die sie ohne Sie nicht bekommen würden.

Ein Beispiel: Warum haben Sie ein Carsharing-Unternehmen aufgebaut? Weil Sie im Studium etwas über Auslastungsgrade von Hotels gelernt haben. Wer ein Hotel mit einem Auslastungsgrad von nur 5 Prozent führt, ist gescheitert. Autos werden aber nur 5% der Zeit benutzt. Die restliche Zeit stehen sie nutzlos in der Gegend rum. Da haben Sie das Potenzial im Carsharing erkannt.

3. Bereiten Sie eine professionelle Präsentation vor

Entwickeln Sie eine saubere, prägnante Präsentation von maximal 15 Minuten – in einfachem, leicht verständlichem Englisch. Testen Sie sie an Leuten, die nicht vom Fach sind: Wenn die Sie verstehen, werden auch Analysten, Investoren und Reporter Sie verstehen. Drei Schlüsselwörter sind Klarheit, Konsistenz und Fokussierung.

Verinnerlichen Sie diese Präsentation und erzählen Sie sie auf verschiedene Arten mit Twists und Beispielen. Bleiben Sie bei komplexen Themen einfach und holen Sie Ihre Meetingpartner gedanklich dort ab, wo sie stehen. Verwende Metaphern.

4. Gehen Sie auf Ihre Gesprächspartner ein

Wappnen Sie sich für Fragen, aber stellen Sie auch eigene Fragen. Hören Sie genau zu. Versuchen Sie, die verschiedenen Investoren zu verstehen. Finden Sie heraus welche Faktoren die Bewertung Deines Unternehmens beeinflussen.

Übernehmen Sie im Gespräch die Führung und holen Sie die Investoren ins Boot. Sie wollen, dass die Aktionäre zu Ihnen kommen und lange an Bord bleiben. Deshalb müssne Sie über Strategie sprechen. Was sind die Drei- und Fünfjahrespläne? Ein Gespräch ist keine Einbahnstraße. Nutzen Sie das Know-How des Investors und erhalten Sie konkretes Feedback zu Ihrer Vision. Später wenn Sie die Investoren wieder treffen, können Sie an deren Ideen anknüpfen.

5. Bauen Sie Vertrauen auf

Bauen Sie eine dauerhafte Beziehung auf. Wenn Sie Ihre Deine Pläne umsetzen wollen, brauchen Sie Investoren als langfristige Partner. Egal ob es um Kapitalmaßnahmen geht oder Vertrauen in die gute Unternehmensführung.

Entscheidendes Auswahlkriterium ist neben den reinen Zahlen immer die Managementqualität. Investoren vertrauen Ihnen ihr Geld an, also überzeugen Sie sie mit Selbstvertrauen. Seien SIe nicht frustriert, wenn Sie einen Investor schon oft getroffen haben und er immer noch nicht eingestiegen ist. Solange er sich mit Ihnen trifft, ist ihm Ihr Unternehmen wichtig. Vielleicht wartet er nur auf den richtigen Moment, um mitzumachen. Und wenn es so weit ist, haben sich die ganzen Roadshows gelohnt und die Wahrscheinlichkeit ist hoch, dass diese Beziehung lange währt.

Bonus-Tipp: Verlassen Sie sich auf einen starken Partner

Ein starker Partner wie cometis hilft Ihnen bei allen Schritten Ihrer Road-Show Organisation: Von der Identifizierung der richtigen Investoren und Organisation von Meetings, über Vorbereitung Ihrer Story und Präsentationstraining bis hin zum Einholen von Feedback. Klicken Sie hier für mehr Informationen

Michael Diegelmann
Henryk Deter

Newsletter Anmeldung

Kontakt

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mo. - Fr. 09:00 - 18:00 Uhr)

Antwort Mo. -Fr.

innerhalb von 24 Stunden

Newsletter Anmeldung

Inklusive Best-of unseres Besteller Buches.

Michael Diegelmann
Henryk_Deter

Newsletter Anmeldung

Kontakt

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mo. - Fr. 09:00 - 18:00 Uhr)

Antwort Mo. -Fr.

innerhalb von 24 Stunden

Newsletter Anmeldung

Inklusive Best-of unseres Besteller Buches.