News und Studien cometis AG, Frankfurt am Main

Paid Research: yes or no?

Last updated Jun 17, 2020 at 11:09AM | Published on Mar 19, 2020 | Pressemitteilung

In 2019, the Markets in Financial Instruments Directive (MiFID II) came into force and had a significant impact on equity research: independent asset managers are no longer allowed to accept grants from banks. Another unfortunate side effect is that investment research is now also considered a grant. Asset managers have three options for dealing with this: they can dispense with research altogether, they can pass the research costs on to clients or they pay for research themselves. What is fatal is that none of these solutions provides better service or a more favourable cost structure for investors.

But it is not only the buyers of research who have a problem. MiFID II requires fund companies and investment banks to separate trading fees and research costs. Equity research used to be subsidised by trading commissions, whereas now each service has to be priced and marketed individually. As a result, research teams have shrunk significantly, but remain under pressure. The dilemma: on the one hand, prices for analyses must be competitive. On the other hand, this is problematic for a clientele that up until now was used to free research. In the EMENA region, for example, the number of employees in equity research at twelve major investment banks has fallen by 14% since 2013 (down to 1,200 in the first half of 2018 according to Coalition Development). Thanks to MiFID II the trend is set to continue. Not only did the number of analyses fall overall, the coverage of small caps has declined disproportionately.

In search of new sources of income some providers are now becoming creative. For example, some research houses offer so-called “sponsored research”. Should companies commission such research?

This kind of research coverage is expensive. Companies need to allow for a five- to six-figure sum in their IR budgets every year. At the same time, readers are aware of the “relationship” between the companies and the researchers. Consequently, investors are critical of the analysts’ independence. However, one also needs to consider that research houses and analysts rely on their credibility in the market and therefore strive for independence. So what’s the takeaway? Investors and companies are ultimately in the same boat and high-quality paid research is still better than no research at all.

Michael Diegelmann

Newsletter subscription

Contact

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mon. - Fri. 09.00 - 18.00)

Answer Mon. - Fri.

within 24 hours

Newsletter subscription

Including a free extract of our bestseller book

Michael Diegelmann
Henryk_Deter

Newsletter subscription

Contact

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mon. – Fri. 09.00 – 18.00)

Answer Mon. – Fri.

within 24 hours

Newsletter subscription

Including a free extract of our bestseller book

Paid Research: yes or no?

Last updated Jun 17, 2020 at 3:47PM | Published on Mar 19, 2020 | Pressemitteilung

2019 trat die Richtlinie über Märkte für Finanzinstrumente (MiFID II) in Kraft und brachte für die Aktienanalyse einen einschneidenden Nebeneffekt. Unabhängige Asset Manager dürfen keine Zuwendungen mehr von Banken entgegennehmen. Die Folge: Als Zuwendung gilt auch Investment Research. Vermögensverwalter haben nun drei Möglichkeiten, damit umzugehen: Sie verzichten auf Research, sie geben die Research-Kosten an die Kunden weiter oder sie übernehmen die Kosten auf eigene Rechnung. Fatal ist: Keine dieser Lösungen bringt einen besseren Service oder eine günstigere Kostenstruktur für die Anleger. Die Vermögensverwalter haben nur „die Wahl der Qual“.

Doch nicht nur die Käufer von Research haben ein Problem. MiFID II zwingt Fondsgesellschaften und Investmentbanken, Handelsgebühren und Research-Kosten voneinander zu trennen. Wurden die Aktienanalysen früher durch Handelsprovisionen subventioniert, so muss nun jede Dienstleistung einzeln bepreist und vermarktet werden. Die Folge: Die Researchteams sind deutlich geschrumpft, bleiben aber weiter unter Druck. Das Dilemma: Auf der einen Seite müssen die Preise der Analysen wettbewerbsfähig sein. Das ist ein Problem bei einer Klientel, die vermeintlich kostenloses Research gewohnt war. So ist in der EMENA-Region die Zahl der Mitarbeiter im Bereich Aktien-Research bei zwölf großen Investmentbanken seit 2013 um 14 Prozent auf 1.200 im ersten Halbjahr 2018 gesunken (Quelle: Coalition Development). Tendenz weiter fallen, denn MiFID II hat nun noch einmal zu einer Beschleunigung des Trends geführt. Nicht nur die Zahl der Analysen ging insgesamt zurück. Die „coverage“ niedrig kapitalisierter Werte hat überproportional abgenommen.

Auf der Suche nach neuen Einnahmequellen werden einige Anbieter nun kreativ. So bieten manche Research-Häuser den Unternehmen so genanntes „gesponsertes Research“ an. Sollten Unternehmen solches Research beauftragen?

Die Researchabdeckung kostet. Unternehmen müssen in den IR-Budgets hierfür jährlich einen fünf- bis sechsstelligen Betrag berücksichtigen. Gleichzeitig wissen die Leser um die „Beziehung“ der Unternehmen zu den von ihnen beauftragten Researchern. Entsprechend kritisch schauen Investoren hier auf die Unabhängigkeit der Analystenmeinung. Doch auch die Research-Häuser und Analysten leben von ihrer Glaubwürdigkeit im Markt und sind daher um Unabhängigkeit bemüht. Schlussendlich sitzen Investoren und Unternehmen jedoch im selben Boot: Qualitativ hochwertiges Paid-Research ist definitiv immer besser als gar kein Research.

Michael Diegelmann
Henryk Deter

Newsletter Anmeldung

Kontakt

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mo. - Fr. 09:00 - 18:00 Uhr)

Antwort Mo. -Fr.

innerhalb von 24 Stunden

Newsletter Anmeldung

Inklusive Best-of unseres Besteller Buches.

Michael Diegelmann
Henryk_Deter

Newsletter Anmeldung

Kontakt

+49 611 205 855 0

(Mo. - Fr. 09:00 - 18:00 Uhr)

Antwort Mo. -Fr.

innerhalb von 24 Stunden

Newsletter Anmeldung

Inklusive Best-of unseres Besteller Buches.