News und Studien cometis AG, Frankfurt am Main

Smart Estimates: High relevance for investor relations managers, 06.06.2017

Wiesbaden, 06. June 2017 – Weighted averages of analyst estimates have a very high relevancy in the work of investor relations managers and an even higher one for investors. This shows a recent survey of cometis AG among around 500 investor relations managers, most of which are from the German-speaking countries Germany, Switzerland and Austria. The survey took place from end of March until end of April 2017.

Database providers like Thomson Reuters are utilizing so-called Smart Estimates in their databases in order to weigh the estimates of individual analysts differently. Decisive for the weighting is among other things the historical accuracy of the respective analysts. The overall purpose of this survey was to inquire the meaning of the weighted analyst estimates among participants. Due to the very high response rate of just over 15%, the results are of great significance. The results in detail can be found below.
 
In which index is your company listed?
 
Graphics 1 Analyst estimates, Smart Estimates, Investor Relations Agency cometis AG
 
Participants: 76 investor relations managers took part in the survey, of which about 78 % are employed in index-listed companies. With almost 24 % of participants, the largest group of investor relations experts are from MDAX-listed companies. Approximately 22% are engaged in a non-index-listed company.
 
How do you assess the relevance of weighted averages of analyst estimates in your investor relations work?
 
Graphic 2 Analyst estimates, Smart Estimates, Investor Relations Consultant cometis AG
 
From the IR managers point of view: Roughly 54 % of the participants assessed the importance of weighted averages of analyst estimates in their investor relations work as medium to very high. In contrast, approximately 32 % estimate the relevance of so-called Smart Estimates as low to not relevant. Around 14 % of participants are unfamiliar with this kind of processing of analyst estimates.
 
How do you assess the relevance of weighted averages of analyst estimates for investors based on your experience?
 
Graphic 3 Analyst estimates, Smart Estimates, Investor Relations Consultancy cometis AG
 
From the investors point of view: Based on their experience roughly two thirds of the investor relations manager estimate that for investors the weighted averages of analyst estimates have medium to very high relevancy and are therefore more important to investors than to investor relations managers. Approximately 17 % believe that investors attribute low to no relevance to Smart Estimates. In consistency with the above-mentioned question roughly 14 % of participants are not familiar with Smart Estimates.

News und Studien cometis AG, Frankfurt am Main

Smart Estimates: Hohe Relevanz für Investor Relations-Manager, 06.06.2017

Wiesbaden, 06. Juni 2017 – gewichtete Durchschnitte von Analystenschätzungen haben eine sehr hohe Relevanz in der Arbeit von Investor Relations-Managern und eine noch höhere für Investoren. Dies zeigt eine aktuelle Umfrage der cometis AG unter rund 500 Investor Relations-Managern, mehrheitlich aus der DACH-Region. Die Umfrage fand von Ende März bis Ende April 2017 statt.

Datenbankanbieter wie etwa Thomson Reuters verwenden in ihren Datenbanken sogenannte Smart Estimates, um die Schätzungen einzelner Analysten unterschiedlich zu gewichten. Maßgeblich für die Gewichtung ist u. a. die historische Treffergenauigkeit des jeweiligen Analysten. Ziel der Umfrage war es, die Bedeutung dieser gewichteten Analystenschätzungen bei Marktteilnehmern zu erfragen. Die Ergebnisse verfügen aufgrund der sehr hohen Rücklaufquote von knapp über 15 % über eine große Aussagekraft. Die Resultate im Detail finden Sie untenstehend.

 
In welchem Index ist Ihr Unternehmen notiert?
 
Grafik 1 Analystenschätzung, Smart Estimates, Investor Relations Agentur cometis AG
 
Teilnehmer: An der Umfrage haben 76 Investor Relations-Manager teilgenommen. Davon sind rund 78 % in einem indexnotierten Unternehmen tätig. Mit knapp 24 % der Teilnehmer haben sich am häufigsten Investor Relations-Experten aus MDAX-Unternehmen beteiligt. Rund 22 % sind in einem nicht-indexnotierten Unternehmen beschäftigt.

 
Wie beurteilen Sie die Relevanz gewichteter Durchschnitte von Analystenschätzungen in Ihrer Investor Relations-Arbeit?
 
Grafik 2 Analystenschätzung, Smart Estimates, Investor Relations Agentur cometis AG
 
Aus der Sicht von IR-Managern: Rund 54 % der Teilnehmer beurteilen die Bedeutung gewichteter Durchschnitte von Analystenschätzungen in ihrer Investor Relations-Arbeit als mittel bis sehr hoch. Demgegenüber schätzen rund 32 % die Relevanz von sogenannten Smart Estimates als niedrig bis nicht relevant ein. Rund 14 % der Teilnehmer ist diese Form der Aufbereitung von Analystenschätzungen unbekannt.

 
Wie beurteilen Sie basierend auf Ihrer Erfahrung die Relevanz gewichteter Durchschnitte von Analystenschätzungen für Investoren?
 
Grafik 3 Analystenschätzung, Smart Estimates, Investor Relations Agentur cometis AG

 
Aus der Sicht von Investoren: Basierend auf ihren Erfahrungen schätzen knapp zwei Drittel der Investor Relations-Manager, dass für Investoren gewichtete Durchschnitte von Analystenschätzungen eine mittlere bis sehr hohe Relevanz haben und damit für Investoren bedeutender sind als für Investor Relations-Manager. Rund 17 % glauben, dass Investoren Smart Estimates eine niedrige bis keine Bedeutung beimessen. Konsistent mit der obigen Frage kennen rund 14 % der Teilnehmer Smart Estimates nicht.